Let me show you.

On the menu: Salty Dog and Candied Grapefruit Peels

Salty Dog ~ Documenting our Dinner.

Candied Grapefruit Peel ~ Documenting our Dinner.

You don’t want me to say much right now.

Salty Dog ~ Documenting our Dinner. Salty Dog ~ Documenting our Dinner.

I’m brooding. I’m in this phase of serious self-discovery, pushing my limits, setting goals, and trying to figure out what it’s all going to come to. I’m asking all these ridiculous existential questions. You know, what’s the point? Why does any of this matter? Who am I? I feel like a child.

Candied Grapefruit Peel ~ Documenting our Dinner.

Didn’t this happen half my life ago? Adolescence was a bitch. And yet, here I am, going through it all over again. I’ve been rebelling against my advisors ideas of what I’m going to do with my dissertation, trying to figure out what I’m going to do more independently. I want to be more sure of myself as a scientist. I’m basically a freaking teenager these days. So I think it’s best for all of us if I keep my mouth shut.

Salty Dog ~ Documenting our Dinner.

But I’m eating (And drinking. I can do that this time around.) a lot of grapefruit. Let me show you.

Candied Grapefruit Peel ~ Documenting our Dinner. Candied Grapefruit Peel ~ Documenting our Dinner.

Salty Dog
adapted from The Best Remedy

1 tablespoon kosher salt
4 ounces fresh-squeezed grapefruit juice
2 ounces gin

Place the salt on a small plate. Run the rim of a coupe glass along the cut flesh of a grapefruit, then dip it in salt to coat and set aside.

Mix grapefruit juice and gin in a cocktail shaker filled with ice. Shake vigorously for 10 seconds until very cold. Strain into coupe glass and serve.

Salty Dog ~ Documenting our Dinner.

Candied Grapefruit Peels
adapted from Jacques Torres via Food Network

I only dipped a third of the peels I made in chocolate, so scale up the amount of chocolate if you want all the peels dipped. I would highly recommend that you do that.

2 grapefruits
1 3/4 cups sugar, divided into 1 1/4 and 1/2 cup portions
4 oz bittersweet chocolate

Carefully cut the peel in roughly 2 inch sections from the grapefruit and avoid cutting a lot of white pith along with the peel. Cut sections of peel into 1/2 inch wide strips.

Place sliced peels in a small nonreactive saucepan and add cold water to cover the peels by about 1 inch. Bring to a boil, then drain the peels. Cover with fresh cold water and repeat this process three more times. This removes a lot of bitterness from the peels.

After the fourth boil, return the peels to the sauce pan and again add cold water to cover the peels by 1 inch. Add the 1 1/4 cups of sugar and bring to a simmer over medium low heat. Simmer for 2 hours. The peels will become soft and translucent.

Drain the peels and lay on a wire rack to remove excess syrup. Make sure to put something under the rack to catch the syrup! After three hours, the peels will be firm and tacky. Carefully toss the peels with the 1/2 cup sugar.

To coat with chocolate, melt the chocolate over a double boiler, then dip 1/2-3/4 of a peel into the melted chocolate. Let set on a wire rack. Finished peels will keep at room temperature for three days.

That’s not all. I’ve put grapefruit in salads, made curd with it, turned some of that curd into ice cream, and just plain old cut into the stuff straight up. I’m obsessed.

This entry was posted in Dessert, Drinks, Fruity, Sweet Treats and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Let me show you.

  1. emma says:

    You! Being all sneaky with the sudden grapefruit love! Glad to see you’ve come around, grapefruit has such a bold and incredible taste.

    I know the feelings you are having, I think it’s just human nature. Granted, academia is a bit of a stifled environment. I remember telling Bob W. once how I had joined the orchestra, and he gets a bit red in the face and says “HOW COME YOU HAVE TIME FOR THAT!??!” Yah okay. Make the most out of your time there Brianne.

    We should go to another concert or something this summer. Got any ideas? We don’t have to go as far if there’s something nifty in Portland!

    • Brianne says:

      Bold and incredible. What an accurate description! I am over the moon obsessed.

      It is just human nature to want more and to feel like you belong. Things are good, though. My work is interesting and I can see its relevance. And I’m still cooking and tweeting and pinning and watching an obscene amount of television, but writing in this space has become really difficult lately. Probably since I spend my days sitting at the computer writing. Gross.

      Portland adventures will be had. Tonic, Dishwalla, and Vertical Horizon were in Portland last month and I really wanted to go. But I just bought Kevin and I tickets to see Nickel Creek in Boston in May!! There will most definitely be something for us to do in Portland this summer. It’s happening.

  2. Mimi says:

    Beautiful! I don’t know which I want more, the candied peels or the cocktails!

    • Brianne says:

      Thanks, Mimi! I wish I could tell you which one is better, but I can’t decide between them, either! Choosing between two equally appealing options is way too difficult.

  3. elizabeth says:

    Welcome to the citrus side! Aren’t they sensational in salads? I’ve been enjoying quite a few Italian Greyhounds myself (gin+grapefruit juice+splash of Campari), and they have made these weeks of lingering winter weather slightly more tolerable.

    Honestly, I think it’s a good thing you’re brooding and pushing yourself and going into a period of self-discovery, because I’m not convinced that one period during the teenage years is at all sufficient. And look–while you’ve been brooding, you have been able to embrace grapefruit so clearly it’s been productive from a culinary standpoint!

    • Brianne says:

      You speak such wise words. Campari is my favorite. It’s also expensive, and I am notoriously a penny pincher. I bought myself a bottle two years ago and slowly, slowly made my way through it. It’s been gone far too long. It would be AMAZEBALLS in this drink!!! Oh my gosh, I just can’t even. But I just bought concert tickets (see my response to Emma), so any chance of a reunion has been pushed back. Dang.

      It feels good to be pushing myself. I initially wrote a post about how good I’m feeling lately because of all the things I’m learning and discovering about the bees and about myself, but it turned into a rambling mess and I couldn’t fix it. I figured that fewer words would be easier on my addled brain. But it sounds a lot more emo the way I published it, doesn’t it? Writing is always a learning process!

  4. TWO RECIPES?! Oh boy!! The chocolate peels look especially delicious. Yum!

  5. Hannah says:

    Lots of love for grapefruit here, Brianne! Mmm, that cocktail is stunning and oh so tempting…good to sip as you ponder and question. Some self-reflection is necessary at many stages in life, so indulge and know you’ll emerge and flourish beautifully.

  6. Gourmantine says:

    The cocktail looks phenomenal and candying grapefruit peel is something I haven’t tried before :)

    • Brianne says:

      The candied grapefruit peel recipe guides you through every step of the process, and I really enjoyed making them. There’s some time involved, but as with most time-consuming dishes, the end result is definitely worth it. I hope you try them!

  7. shannon says:

    we all act like teenagers some days, and we all feel like we did when we were teens. did it suck? yes, hell yes, it did. does it still? yes, but it also reminds me that i am not that far removed from my younger self (which is valuable like diamonds, BELIEVE ME, when you’re in your mid-ish thirties). brood away: it sounds like you have a lot to think about, and that’s okay! you do what you need to do for you. if it helps, i’ve been a little angsty-teenish recently as well, so we’ll get through this together. i’m a HUGE fan of shitty TV and pinning my hours away. :)

    • Brianne says:

      I think the worst part of this particular cycle is that I’m realizing that this is a cycle; I will go through these phases for the rest of my life. That’s both sad and powerful, though: now I can start to get a better handle on how I deal with these times. Thanks for the wise words, friend! <3

  8. Lovely! I just posted a super similar recipe last week, except I candied only thin strips of grapefruit zest rather than the thicker, sturdier peels, and I didn’t try dipping them in chocolate—your candied peels look even more appealing; I will have to try your version, too!

    (But aren’t Salty Dogs made with vodka, while Greyhounds are made with gin? Anyway, I loooove both Salty Dog and Greyhound cocktails—basically anything grapefruit!)

    • Brianne says:

      I would have lost my patience working with anything thinner than these were. Mad props! And I’ve seen both vodka and gin drinks with grapefruit called greyhounds. I figure I’m safe calling it a Salty Dog no matter what’s in it, as long as I serve it with a salted rim!

Leave a Reply

