Add some flavor.

On the menu: Blueberry Maple Breakfast Sausage

Blueberry Maple Breakfast Sausage ~ Documenting our Dinner.

Kevin asked me this week if I felt like our new place is home. It’s so home! There’s still battles, like where the flour canister should go and what we should put where on our walls (Ugh, the walls!), but we’ve been cooking and cleaning and watching movies just like before. It’s not all the same, though. We’ve planted our garden–a real one, in the ground. The cat lives on the back patio. Sometimes she escapes. Our upstairs neighbor has reminded us how particular she is about where our vehicles should go. The humidity is unbearable. Everything is damp, all of the time. I blame the ocean. So it’s home. I think he asked because I haven’t been around a whole lot since the move. I went back to Wisconsin for a while. I still work in the town we used to live in, so I stay there a few nights a week. It’s a bit complicated, but it’s working out.

Blueberry Maple Breakfast Sausage ~ Documenting our Dinner.

This is another rare occasion when I made breakfast. And of course it involves blueberries. I mean, really. Would you expect anything different? I missed getting out in the field for blueberry pollination this year–it was a late spring, and there’s been a lot of rain since it warmed up–but the bees are moving on, and now all we can do is wait for this year’s blueberry harvest. I’m so close to finishing the 25 pounds I brought home from the farm last summer. Blueberries are going in everything. Soon there will be fresh berries again!

Blueberry Maple Breakfast Sausage ~ Documenting our Dinner.

We’ve made so many smoothies and stacks of pancakes, and I knew we needed to try something different. Something savory, perhaps? Yes. Let’s go there. So this blueberry maple breakfast sausage was born. It’s got all kinds of things. A ground pork base, of course. Blueberries and maple for sweetness. A lot of salt and some oregano and crushed red pepper to keep it savory. I had an internal conflict over whether or not to add fennel. I abstained. These are all kinds of flavortown, friends. Although, and this is a bit worrisome to me, they could have been a bit more salty. Do you know about my fear of salt? I know you’re supposed to use copious amounts of it, but I…value my heart and I don’t want to die of too much sodium. There it is. But I had memories of the frozen sausage patties my dad would fry up on the weekends (and many weeknights, too!), and those were so. freaking. salty. I wanted that. But I didn’t. My heart, you know?

Blueberry Maple Breakfast Sausage ~ Documenting our Dinner.

But these really were wonderful. They were certainly seasoned well, just not overly so. I watched as Kevin bit into one and his eyes lit up. “These are so good!,” he exclaimed. That made me glad. I was glad for the oregano. It paired well with all the sweetness. I don’t know if any other herb would have cut through all that so strongly. Sausage for breakfast wouldn’t be complete without some eggs. There were fried eggs involved. I love frying eggs in the same pan that I fried something super flavorful in. Save a dish, add some flavor! That’s one of my mottos. Not really. Time to go!

Blueberry Maple Breakfast Sausage ~ Documenting our Dinner.

Blueberry Maple Breakfast Sausage
original recipe

makes 9 2 inch patties

1 lb ground pork
3 tablespoons maple syrup
1/2 cup frozen wild blueberries
1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper

Combine all ingredients in a medium bowl and mix by hand. Shape into 1 1/2 inch wide balls, then flatten into patties. Indent the middle with your thumb to prevent the patties from getting too tall in the center. Fry in a skillet over medium high heat until deep brown on the outside and 160°F on the inside, 4-5 minutes.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Eggs, Fruity, Meat, Pork and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Add some flavor.

  1. Emma says:

    That might be the world’s most beauteous egg yolk! So pretty.

    For all the breakfast sausage that I consume, I’ve never really thought to make my own. And for all the complaining I’ve been doing on how the PI grocery store doesn’t care blueberry breakfast sausage, I repeat, I have not thought to make my own. Duhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. New weekend plan!

  2. shannon says:

    emma’s right: that’s a beautiful egg yolk. you make me want breakfast this morning; i can’t think of the last time i “made” a breakfast (other than eggs for myself and like, something for stella), so now i’m thinking this weekend i’ll do something.
    i can’t tell you how much i love these sausages: whole foods makes a blueberry breakfast sausage and i have LOVED it since i saw it. i don’t always go to WF, so it’s a rare thing that i have it, but it’s wonderful, much like i’m sure yours is wonderful. no fennel, hmmm? interesting…i wonder if that makes more focused on the maple/blueberry part of things, which i don’t mind at all. i haven’t decided if i fear salt at all; i think about it sometimes, but there’s a relatively small amount that goes into my sweets per serving, and there’s almost nothing that goes into my regular meals, so i could go crazy on these a bit a la the frozen ones.

    • Brianne says:

      Thank you, lady! Breakfast is super fun; I have such fond memories of my dad cooking breakfast on the weekend when I was young. It would be a fun new project for the Wee One! Well, perhaps not with raw meat. Maybe do pancakes with the kiddo. I love, love fennel in sausage, but you’re exactly right: I wanted these to be all about the blueberry/maple combination, and excluding fennel made that happen. And salt these up! I plan on doing the same the next time I make these. Heart, be damned!

  3. carey says:

    Oh man, blueberry sausage, I know that has to be SO ridiculously good. When I worked at the sap house, I went through a brief blueberry pancake phase (ordering a small pancake [which, by the cook/my boss's definition was the size of half of dinner plate] and finishing barely half, of course), and I loved eating the breakfast sausage together with the blueberry pancake, all smothered in maple syrup. (And that was back when I still feared runny egg yolks. Add that to the equation now, and I die.)

    Our stupid Atlantic ocean making our lives so stinkin’ humid. (I was reading about this the other day, actually! It has to do with ocean currents, and them flowing from south to north in the Atlantic, but from north to south in the Pacific. Also, I think wind factors in there somewhere…..?) But I am so excited for your garden!!! And your cat’s new patio life. :D

    • Brianne says:

      I love when you talk about the sap house! It sounds like such a neat place. Dude, we almost made pancakes with these, but we reluctantly agreed to postpone that idea. But ohmygah, what a combination that would be! Perhaps these ocean currents are concentrated over my new abode? It’s so much more humid on the coast than just a wee bit inland. My cookbooks are going to disintegrate! At least the plants benefit from all this moisture!

  4. What an awesome combination! I love blueberry pancakes and breakfast sausage, and combining these flavors in a sweet and savory sausage sounds perrrrrfect. Breakfast sausage is honestly one of my favorite flavors, something about the salty and sweet fat mixed with herbs and smoky pork meat…so satisfying. I probably should care more about sodium in my diet, but I really don’t pay attention to it. Most things I make I put a teaspoon or two of salt in, but it’s hard to tell for sure because I usually salt to taste. Should probably keep a closer eye on that…

    And yay new place!!! Honestly, the walls of our bedroom are still bare save for one mirror and one framed picture and we moved in over a year ago. I have been wanted to hang more things up but I just never seem to find the time and Jeremy and I have a hard time agreeing on what should go where. But there’s no rush to get everything put exactly where it should be forever, even though you may want to get it all done immediately. You’ll be there for a while and be able to get it all put away over time :)

    • Brianne says:

      Hey man, no bigs about the salt situation. Breakfast sausage needs a lot of salt to be good; it’s just one of those things. And you’re so right about the walls. I feel like someday we’ll find or decide to make something and be like, THAT’S IT. Then we’ll have decorated walls, at last.

  5. Linda says:

    Nice one Brianne! Everytime I attempt a recipe idea floating around in my head, it usually results in… crashing and burning. But seriously, I love the idea of adding bleuberries to breakfast sausages. Especially because my favorite diner food is a thick stack of pancakes, eggs over easy, and sausages, with everything doused in maple syrup and runny yolk. Perfection.

    Oh, and my fiance Chris sounds just like you with the whole salt thing. I try to be amenable to his health concerns, so consequently, I’m prone to under-salting. It’s so hard to get it just right!

    • Brianne says:

      Linda! I love your site! Your recipes and photographs are always stunning. You know, I have yet to try pancakes with runny yolk…I always order scrambled eggs if I’m eating at a diner. I could probably switch it up; diner cooks know how to cook a mean over easy egg!

      Grant Achatz likes to say that if you think you have enough salt in something, you should double it. To which I say, BLECH!

Leave a Reply

