For a rainy day.

On the menu: Lentils with Roasted Vegetables

We have ants. Not the tiny ones, but the big, nasty guys. There’s enough of them to know we’re being invaded, but there’s not enough to determine where they’re coming from. It’s immensely frustrating. If I wasn’t so wary of whatever chemicals are in Raid, I’d just go through the house with it. For now I’ll just step on a few ants here, a few there, and I’ll call it good. But I’m watching them. I WILL eradicate them.

The weather is less than exemplary today, so it’s the perfect opportunity to share this rainy day recipe with you. I’ve been saving it up just for a day like this. We have nothing substantial in our refrigerator, so it’s also the perfect opportunity to share this resourceful dinner. This meal came about a few days after we had made some soup, and the leftover vegetables were not at their finest. Roasting brings the life out of vegetables, even when they’re a wee bit past their prime. I was on a bit of a pantry-emptying kick, so I used lentils as the base here. I’m all about paring down possessions.

Speaking of paring down possessions, I’m on the cusp of finally having enough motivation to do my share of the spring cleaning. One of my best friends and her boyfriend are coming to stay with us in a couple of weeks, and the current condition of our living space is nowhere near presentable. The biggest thing I have to tackle is the refrigerator. Although it doesn’t contain anything substantial at the moment, it does contain jars and jars of condiments. I’m kind of terrified at the thought of sorting through it all. I also have big plans to scrub the walls this weekend. Scrub the walls! I’m getting old.

What I’m really looking forward to this weekend is ribs. We have been eating mostly meatless for a month and a half now with great success. We haven’t cooked with meat at all, unless you count the pepperoni we put on our pizza a couple of weeks ago. That is about to change. Last summer we made baby back ribs on the grill, and we have not stopped talking about them. We’re busting them out again for Memorial Day. Maybe, just maybe, I’ll share them with you.

Until then, friends, here’s a recipe for a rainy day.

Lentils with Roasted Vegetables
original recipe

serves 2-3

1 cup green lentils
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 onion
2 large cloves garlic
3 1/2 cups water, chicken stock,  vegetable stock, or a combination
3 medium Yukon Gold potatoes
a small bunch of broccoli
a small bunch of carrots (4-5 carrots; ours were quite thin)
2 teaspoons dried rosemary
1 teaspoon dried tarragon
1 teaspoon dried marjoram
kosher salt and freshly ground pepper

Preheat the oven to 400°F. Rinse the lentils and sort through for duds or stones. In a small saucepan, heat the liquid until steaming. It doesn’t need to boil. In another, medium sized, saucepan, heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil. Add the onions and garlic and cook until just softened, 3 minutes. Add the lentils, stir, then add the warm liquid. Bring to a simmer, then cover the lentils and cook until soft, 15-20 minutes.

Wash and chop the vegetables. The potatoes should be 1/2 in cubes, the broccoli should be in florets, and the carrots should be in 1 inch lengths. Place the potatoes on a sheet pan and toss with 1 tablespoon olive oil, half the herbs, and some salt and pepper. Roast for 20 minutes. Meanwhile, toss the carrots and broccoli with the last tablespoon of olive oil, the remaining herbs, and some additional salt and pepper. Add the carrots and broccoli to the half-roasted potatoes and roast for another 20 minutes.

We’ve been getting back into wine lately. We served this with a really good Sauvignon Blanc. Sauv Blanc is my favorite.

 

This entry was posted in Beans, Dinner, Vegetables, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to For a rainy day.

  1. Emma says:

    I almost bought a bunch of lentils yesterday…. almost!

    Really pretty photos, you are such a TasteSpotting exceller:)

    We have those icky huge ants with wings that are filly with puss-y innards. I HATE THEM! When we moved in, there were bug traps everywhere, and all kinds of killing sprays in the garage. I was wary of what lay ahead, and now I’m experiencing it. The killing fields. The horror!

    • Brianne says:

      I had never tried lentils until about a year ago. Now I can’t enough of them!

      Why can’t we live in homes without all the icky bugs? Right, because we’re young and broke. Hey, at least we eat well. It’s the good life we live!

  2. Jenny says:

    This looks like the healthiest dinner ever!

  3. Katie says:

    I *love* lentils and this rainy day dish looks so delicious and hearty. It’s such a great idea pairing them with roasted vegetables. Yum! Thanks for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

